Barry Lyndon

crisp air | i just finished reading a new cambridge elements publication by yonatan binyam and verena krebson titled ”Ethiopia” and the World, 330–1500 CE.

and i am so in the mood to smoke.

all i am thinking about right now is King Abraha and his war elephants.

i am so in the mood to just be quietly walking miles uphill to a random dark top, or maybe a small town where i can hear birds singing so clearly, maybe st. george church a few kilometres outside town, i don’t know, i just want to be alone by myself but not too alone you know, i want my ebooks with me, and of course my friends, i mean my twitter oomfs, i want to be so lonely surrounded by bits of friends from distance and bits friends across time, ah friends like a king who seeked to destroy the kaaba or maybe like a simp like kafka who stutters writing a banger letter to his father or like one who turns a giant ant in his bed or just a pianist, a pianist friend would be so cool like mozart or just an online oomf who nerds out on ornithology, musicology, continental philosophy or ethiopian studies, i don’t know but just a bit of a friend or should i say a bit of a brain cell full of words (logoi) to be shared with me, or maybe just a kanye, or even better a chopin or a tchaikovsky who can dip me deep in a swan lake of beauty, or just many swans could help, swans and herons and magpies, something that i can selfishly and recklessly indulge in, i need someone to carry this heavy burden of mine for me, i need a christ of sorts but not a friend who loves me, or laughs with me, or understands me, or even helps me – i want a bit of a friend who strums the melancholia in me, i need a friend like a bottle of beer who fatigues me back into my melancholy because it’s hard, sometimes, to find your Sadness so easily you know, (were it not for piano pieces in minor scales) (yeah laughters, love and movies can sometimes distract you away from the Silence) a megabyte of a friend like that, and just many books (currently reading David Bentley Hart and Karl Rahner side by side) – books are better than movies and music, i love the act of reading, the whispering sound of reading in my head and my eyes following the lines of words; such an engaging process music and movies can never give you!  movies to help me sleep or maybe sometimes, movies like Barry Lyndon, you can actually watch for intellectual reasons. i feel like i have enough of a friend with myself in my tiny world, a functional world that actually gears out into the ‘real’ world but today, 7:48 pm, listening to ballade in A minor by chad lawson, in an empty dormroom, i need a byte of a friend myself.